Multi-Tasking in Lectures

The lights go off, we all sit down
the lecturer takes a moment to walk around.

I’m sitting in a lecture on urogenital development,
the guy in front of me is sleeping – clearly doesn’t think it’s relevant.
The professor’s explaining something about the meta-nephros,
I try to recall if I’ve heard it all before but still I’m at a loss.

The student to my right’s playing a game on his new i-phone.
The girl behind me complains about someone she once knew, in a whiny tone.
The lecturer says ‘penis’ and an idiot somewhere laughs.
Been seated long enough for DVTs so I slowly flex my calf.

Half the class tote Apple Macs for no apparent reason.
My feet are freezing cold ‘cos air conditioning knows no season.
Some guy runs out the lecture hall ‘cos he just got a text.
I’m starting to get bored and wonder which class I have next…

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Multi-Tasking in Lectures | Γονείς σε Δράση
  2. The Hook
    May 23, 2011 @ 21:07:41

    Hang in there, man!

    Reply

  3. renxkyoko
    May 24, 2011 @ 15:07:42

    I’m seriously impressed. Such a wonderful gift. if you could rhyme in old English, you could be like Shakespeare. Keep this up. It’s so fascinating.

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      May 24, 2011 @ 18:29:23

      I somehow don’t think the internet’s quite ready for “Ye Olde Rhyming Apothecary” 😉

      Reply

      • renxkyoko
        May 27, 2011 @ 23:15:21

        About Shakespeare… I hate to admit it, but that’s true. LOL I remember I had to buy these thin books ( I forget what they’re called)… the books explain Shakespeare in plain English, chapter by chapter. Otherwise, I was like, ” what’s he talking about? ” LOL

      • The Rhyming Med Student
        May 28, 2011 @ 00:52:49

        Definitely. I read John Donne back in highschool and I think he was even more difficult to decipher than Shakespeare.

        Just think, in four centuries time everyone’ll be complaining about the zany archaic English we used to communicate in. Hah, take that students of the future…

  4. lovethebadguy
    May 27, 2011 @ 10:35:35

    I am not a med-student. I don’t have the problem of people giggling childishly at words like “penis”.

    …I do however, hear the odd chuckle when the word “bosom” comes up in lectures about poetry. 😉

    Reply

  5. ThingsYouRealizeAfterYouGetMarried
    May 27, 2011 @ 19:12:59

    lol love your rhyming slant to the world of med school….makes ordinary things (like multi-tasking in a lecture hall) so much more extraordinary when you rhyme it! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Akshay Kumar
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 17:49:52

    wow… this made me miss by college days.. gosh..
    running out of lectures, texting, surfing on our laptops, desperate attempts by profs to bring slightest urge of excitement in students…
    totally fascinating 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

