Comparison: Homeless People Vs. Med Students

Rather than wasting this blog just writing rubbish
I’ve decided to step up the quality of the things that I publish
so today I’m going to answer a question plaguing us all:
Do homeless people eat better than those at medical school?

I volunteer at a homeless shelter so that’s my control group.
They don’t eat great but they’re offered things like Vegemite scrolls, soup,
sandwiches, tea, coffee, meat and veg for lunch
and once a week on a Sunday even a cooked brunch.

Lets compare that to some of my colleagues at uni.
I know a girl who, after some thought, decided to be
a vegetarian. I assumed it was a condition of her religion
but it turned out she just can’t afford meat and uni so that was her decision.

I’ll admit they’re not statistically significant samples
but I’m sure you can extrapolate from these two examples.
I bet it could be proved with the help of linear regression.
I wonder if anyone’s ever considered it as a research question?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pranab
    May 15, 2011 @ 23:54:54

    I donno about you, but when it comes to grub,
    Ya’ll regret the day you were born, if you touch my sub,
    This paunch, it needs some maintaining, you see,
    So don’ nobody dare stand between my food and me.

    And when my uni tried to cut into the grub-buck,
    I sold a few books, and just rode my luck.
    But now I’m a doc, so it’s all good, at last,
    While I advise my patients a diet, I tuck in fast!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Poetry Duels! | Scepticemia
  3. The Hook
    May 21, 2011 @ 03:37:20

    Very creative post. Good job!

    Reply

  4. cassiemalvar
    May 26, 2011 @ 22:37:48

    You are ridiculously funny. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

