Exams!

A week of study’s gone by so fast
but at last we’re past the point where the die is cast.
Tommorow the first exam’s looming
we’re expecting the worst but everyone plans assuming
even if they can’t nail it, it’s not as if a whole class could fail it
thanks to the beautiful bell curve (we all hail it
as our guarantee that the questions will be,
if not easy, at least written reasonably).

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DG MARYOGA
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 17:04:14

    Best of luck,my friend.
    Our health is in your hands and we,do,trust you….
    Cheers

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      Jun 16, 2011 @ 22:11:25

      Thanks Doda! My exams are over now (three exams in three days) and they all seemed to go fairly well. Time will tell though.

      Reply

      • DG MARYOGA
        Jun 17, 2011 @ 04:26:16

        Delighted to hear you did well.
        Nevertheless,Medicine is always sort of exams on a permanent basis ; The higher you climb the more you study …and of course the more you enjoy it especially when it is not compulsory…
        I am dead sure you know it better than me,don’t you ?

  2. renxkyoko
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 00:31:59

    hey, study your stuff well, i beg of you. Our lives are in your hands. LOL

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      Jun 16, 2011 @ 22:27:38

      Yeah, I certainly did that this last week and a half. Still, I think I was less stressed about it than most people.

      It’s kind of depressing when you can walk through a tutorial room at 1am and be certain that all the people you saw yesterday morning will be right where you left them.

      Reply

  3. lovethebadguy
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 11:09:47

    I have my first exam tomorrow!

    Except mine is Italian. To the best of my knowledge, Italian doesn’t come in handy when someone is having a heart attack or a seizure or losing blood in a gross spurting motion due to a cut artery…

    So, yeah. Your exam may be harder and more important. 😉

    Good luck!

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      Jun 16, 2011 @ 22:05:11

      I disagree. Imagine you’re wandering through Naples on a starry night, no-one else around but you, when what should you come across but a man passed out on the side-walk rapidly exsanguinating. You call the ambulance on your mobile, but of course they don’t speak English…

      Yep, only Italian could save this man from certain death!

      Oh, and best of luck for your exams too 😀

      Reply

      • lovethebadguy
        Jun 19, 2011 @ 08:54:43

        *looks up “exsanguination” on Wikipedia*

        ….Ohhhhh!

        Then yeah. I could totally be a hero. 😀

        (Note to self… Look up Italian way of asking for an ambulance before going to Italy…)

  4. renxkyoko
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 01:35:07

    When you become a doctor, I wonder if your prescription will rhyme too. LOL

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      Jun 18, 2011 @ 13:44:23

      Take this Lanoxin,
      it’s full of digoxin
      to slow your AV node
      and improve cardiac work load.

      A loading dose to start
      will help out your heart
      but there’s blood tests we’ll need
      before we proceed.

      I think that answers your question, right?

      Reply

      • renxkyoko
        Jun 19, 2011 @ 00:03:52

        For some reason, it doesn’t sound so comforting…… I guess we have to draw a line on some areas of medicine. LMAO

      • lovethebadguy
        Jun 19, 2011 @ 08:52:14

        I dunno. I think I’d be happier to take my prescription in rhyming form… Unless it was for something real serious… Then I might think that it wasn’t serious, and get all confused…

        You know what, maybe rhyming prescriptions isn’t a good idea. 😉

      • The Rhyming Med Student
        Jun 19, 2011 @ 09:44:59

        Maybe that effect could be harnessed for delivering bad news and apologizing for mistakes then? The fact that the explanation was in rhyme would keep people from thinking things were too serious and suing the hospital.

        I just hope the Health Department never works that one out. 😉

  5. doctorwithborders
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:28:57

    Hey thx for the words of encouragement. I was trying to figure out why my blog was acting weird and I finally figured it out haha. Your poetry is exquisite my good sir :p Glad to see exams went well, im in the dungeon studying for my Step Exam….there goes a would be summer missed

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      Jun 21, 2011 @ 18:07:55

      I took another look and it’s a lot easier to read now.

      Fortunately we don’t have a step 1 exam in Australia – just normal run of the mill exams in the pre-clinical years. I know a few American students who are taking it with the intention of returning home at the end of the course though and, well, let’s just say better them than me 😉

      Good luck! Keep your eye on the prize.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

