Buzz

This post is born purely out of procrastination,
a sign that I’ve succumbed to the temptation
to abandon my essay writing activities
and instead indulge my less productive proclivities
such as writing inane, convoluted blog posts in rhyme.
I had a better post planned but at this time I’m
personally inclined to write about a topic that’s been on my mind
even though it’s probably less interesting than what you’d otherwise find
if I’d stuck to my original intention but as I previously mentioned
I’m writing a long pointless essay on ethics and I’d like to make a contention
that contrary to what my lecturer would like me to believe,
the thing that I think, what’s currently bothering me
is that try as I might I can’t help but perceive
that’s it’s less about ethics than trendy vocabulary.

Now, I have no problem with writing, as you can see,
I could write and write until my hands bleed if need be
but I suspect that those with a point and an ethical mind
will ultimately end up been left far behind
if they fail to tap the sociology marker’s real goldmine
of high BWPL (that’s buzzwords per line).
Fortunately, it’s no issue, with my word making up ability,
ie, this gem: ethnodiscomambubinility
(you could almost believe it’s a real word, right?
No? Well, cut me some slack, I have been up studying all night)

But my point (if I can really be said to have one at all)
is that even though there’s certainly a call
for ethical issues and written expression to get a
more in-depth treatment so tommorow’s doctors communicate better
(preferably, but not necessarily, in rhyming stanzas)
I still have to wonder, is this really our best answer?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pranab
    May 05, 2011 @ 23:56:25

    you make up words, you cross your swords,
    you challenge the age old way of life,
    but it seems to me, essays on ethnodiscomambubinility,
    are gonna bring to you nothing but strife.

    so my words do heed, no more smokin’ weed,
    when the prof shakes out the lecture note,
    just bend over right, give up without a fight,
    surrender your brain and just learn by rote…

    😛

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      May 06, 2011 @ 21:15:06

      I must respectfully disagree
      for in my opinion you see
      ethnodiscomambubinility
      surely has the potential to be
      one of the best words ever
      if only I were clever
      enough to make the endeavor
      to discover whether
      I could fabricate a meaning
      to complement this seeming
      neologism that I’m dreaming
      dictionaries will one day put esteem in.

      PS: Just wanted say thanks, by the way,
      for the shout out to the ASMJ!

      Reply

  2. Pranab
    May 06, 2011 @ 22:33:15

    😉

    Reply

  3. renxkyoko iglesias
    May 07, 2011 @ 21:35:58

    Wow! This is amazing. I’m adding your site to my blogroll, if it’s okay with you.

    I can’t rhyme to save my soul, unfortunately. Oh, and thank you for liking my nonsense. ^o^

    Reply

  4. renxkyoko
    May 08, 2011 @ 02:37:15

    You’re welcome. Oh and hey, being able to rhyme is a gift.

    Reply

  5. The Hook
    May 21, 2011 @ 03:39:49

    Keep up the good work!

    Reply

  6. cassiemalvar
    May 27, 2011 @ 00:29:48

    You know, you could actually rap this and still sound legit. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

