I’m on a Boat

At the start of the year when the river’s level surged
among the first things to become submerged
were the docks supporting the City Cat’s and ferries
but now it it looks like finally there is
an effort to get operations back underway
as I discovered by chance the other day.

I was quite happily trudging home from my last class,
watching the students who owned cars go zooming past,
when I took a quick detour through a nearby park
which happened to overlook the river and, hark,
down on that filthy water what should I see?
If you don’t read my title, you’re not getting an answer from me.

One last hint for my slower readers

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
I decided to seize this rare chance to catch a boat home.
It’d be awesome to arrive at my street on the back of spray and foam.
But as I’d half suspected, right from the start,
my plan was always doomed to fall apart.
Turns out they’re only running at partial capacity
so they cruised past my nearest stop with total impassivity.
Still, catching a boat home remains at 10 on my awesomeness score
even though walking back up-river took me seventy minutes more.

Image from here

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Hook
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 00:46:36

    Great title! Sorry your experience was so-so, but you got a great post out of it!

    Reply

  2. Axl
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 00:07:36

    Nice! Coincidentally, I created a post-in-rhyme recently. Very fun, but a lot of work. I dont know how you do it for every post!

    Reply

  3. DG MARYOGA
    May 07, 2011 @ 16:54:44

    Simply : Refreshing !
    Keep up your rhyming practice;It totally supports and strengthens your peace of mind.It is an expression…,isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

