Things I Didn’t Go To

Admittedly, over four years of a medical degree
this could rapidly bloom into a whole damn category.
Now I know some of you will probably question the allowability
of blogging about things that I wasn’t actually there to see
and while I admit it has more than a whiff of futility
I actually have a point which I will get to shortly.

So how did we reach this bizarre state of affairs?
Why am I blogging about things for which I was not there?
Well, the answer, if anyone out there really cares,
comes down to the UQMS Sports Day event where
all the med students jog from a pub to this weird drunken sort of fair
out at Dutton Park – if you want to read a better post about it try here

The sort of thing I'm missing out on. Source: UQMS Website

Anyway, now you’ve come back from that non-rhyming distraction,
let’s turn our attention back to the main attraction.
I dropped in for a drink after the attendees returned from the action
but missed out on the main event and that gave me some mental traction.
It started me musing on the question of balance between social interaction
and learning at med school. An issue I’m yet to resolve to my satisfaction.

You see, I can study ceaselessly – I certainly did during undergrad-
but my first time at uni I missed out on a lot of what it had
to offer, which in some ways was really quite sad.
Of course, the opposite extreme is at least as bad.
Moderation’s the solution in theory, but I have to add
that in practice, finding that balance is enough to drive someone mad.

In the end, the issue can’t be solved by mental contortion
it’s a matter of trial and error and attempting to apportion
time between various demands while exercising due caution
to avoid the extremes which might call for one
to compromise quality of work or alternatively to shun
fellow students. It’s the difficult balancing act of moderation.

Leave a Reply

