A Day of Practical Labs

Our course kicked off with the PBL and lecture components
but there’s one more element to be added in a moment.
You know what it is, I don’t really have to say.
It’s practical classes! Didn’t the title give it away?

I’ve heard people say ‘when it rains it’ll pour’
and in the case of lab classes I couldn’t agree more.
Today, not one, not two, but three in a row
a large load when all the previous days had zero.

In my previous course, labs were traumatic ordeals
filled with open flames, supervisor’s squeals,
minor acid burns, the kind of places where
strychnine coated benches and ammonia filled the air.

So you can understand that it was with some trepidation
that I anticipated the labs needed to enter my new vocation.
I assumed three in a row would be a severe strain
so when I arrived at uni I was just waiting for the pain.

We had a histology lab to start off the morning.
I expected fiddly microscopes – I thought it was a sure thing.
Imagine how surprised I was when I discovered
that all the required slides were already covered.

Just log on to e-learning (or something) they reckoned
and you can download each slide image in a split second.
I thought that was pretty cool until something went wrong
to stop their website loading. Then it was time to move along.

Lab number two was the heart and circulation
the first half was a lecture and the second an invitation
to observe our tutors manipulate a mock up of circulation
and consider the haemodynamic effect of functional alterations.

The final lab of the day was anatomy with wet samples
(severed legs and hearts in buckets to cite some examples).
They started out by explaining appropriate safety standards
and tried to allay our worries about dealing with cadavers

Then we got to examine a pre-prepared specimen,
one of four we’d look at by the end of the lesson.
I wasn’t really sure about most of what was what
but I acted like I did while I fought for a viewing spot

So today I learnt some important stuff
the most important is that med labs aren’t so rough
(at least so far, they could get worse later on)
but for now I’m just comfortably cruising along.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. digitalcatharsis
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 13:37:16

    Wow. You can rhyme your way out to blog! This is cool! You have a fan here!

    Reply

  2. DG MARYOGA
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 01:56:54

    It’s extraordinary how adequately you handle the rhyming style !!!
    No doubt, we are talking about an inborn talent here. You are fortunate you “unburied” your aptitude , because sometimes , human talents are buried deep and it’s really so sad..

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      Feb 11, 2011 @ 17:01:00

      The way to uncover new talents is to try new things, outside of the norm (in my case writing a rhyming blog). Unfortunately, I suspect the reason that many people don’t discover all of their talents is simply because they never try many of the things for which they they may have a latent aptitude.

      Reply

  3. DG MARYOGA
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 20:15:39

    Try new things outside of the norm,that’s an effective approach when being an adult,however, who is going to help you at an earlier stage?
    Then ,I think, it’s the parents and teachers’ role,if you are lucky enough to have those responsible and capable individuals around you and near to you…

    Reply

    • The Rhyming Med Student
      Feb 11, 2011 @ 22:34:29

      Definitely, in early life teachers (both formal and informal) are crucial to development. I think even as an adult teachers/mentors are enormously valuable for those lucky enough to find them later in life. Sadly, later in life I also think many people experience hurdles which can keep them from having the courage or opportunities to seek out and fully benefit from such individuals.

      Reply

  4. DG MARYOGA
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 19:28:30

    Oh Gosh,those hurdles and lost opportunities for promising young people, which act as a brake on them.Not fair at all,I am afraid.
    I wish meritocracy could prevail everywhere, for the benefit of humankind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

